International Co-operative Alliance for Asia-Pacific elects new board

The regional assembly of the International Co-operative Alliance for Asia and Pacific has elected a new board.

The Alliance’s Asia Pacific office was established in New Delhi in 1960 to provide a forum of knowledge, expertise and coordinated action for co-ops in the region.

The new board will be chaired by Mr Li Chunsheng (vice president, All China Federation of Supply & Marketing Co-operatives). President is Dr Chandra Pal Singh Yadav, (president, National Cooperative Union of India) and vice chair is Ms Chitose Arai, (vice president, Japanese Consumers’ Cooperative Union).

Also elected were Mr H.A.M. Nurdin Halid (president, Indonesia Co-operative Council), Mr Alireza Gharagozlou (vice president of Economic and International Affairs, Iran Chamber of Commerce), Mr Byeong Won Kim (chair, National Agricultural Cooperative Federation, Korea), Dato Hj. Abdul Fattah Hj. Abdullah (president, Malaysian National Cooperative Movement), Mr Keshav Prasad Badal (chair, National Cooperative Federation of Nepal), Mr Adolfo A. Ibanez (chair, National Confederation of Cooperatives, Philippines), Mr Kwek Kok Kwong (chair, Singapore National Cooperative Federation), and Mr W. Lalith A. Peiris (president, National Cooperative Council of Sri Lanka).

The Asia-Pacific board consists of 13 members, 11 elected and two co-opted. The co-opted members on the board are Dr Sukesh Zamwar (Buldana Urban Cooperative Credit Society, India), chair of the ICA-AP Committee on Youth; and Ms Masako Shimbo (JCCU, Japan), chair of the ICA-AP Committee on Women.