Co-op Party names new chair and vice chair

Jim McMahon MP has been appointed NEC chair and Ruth Hall takes the role of vice chair

Jim McMahon has been named the new chair of the Co-op Party’s NEC.

The Labour/Co-op MP for Oldham West and Royton and shadow transport secretary was elected to the role yesterday.

His previous roles include leader of Oldham Council, chair of the Co-operative Councils Innovation Network and chair of Labour group on the Local Government Association.

Ruth Hall – who has an executive role in the Scottish Co-op Party, sits on the Co-op Group National Members Council and Member Voice Committee and is a trustee of the UK Society for Co-operative Studies – has been voted deputy chair.

The Party tweeted: “Congratulations to @JimfromOldham and @ruthhall1 on becoming our party’s NEC Chair and Vice Chair today! We look forward to working with them and with the whole of the new NEC.”

Related: Co-op Party announces NEC election results

Mr McMahon said on Twitter that he was: “hugely proud to be elected Chair of the Co-operative Party” and paid tribute to its work with “over 100 years of history rooted in community; working for a Labour & Co-operative Government as we approach our centenary as sister parties in 2027.”

He said he was keen to work across the movement alongside Ms Hall and the NEC.

Ruth Hall tweeted: “Proud to have been elected today as Vice-Chair of @CoopParty. Excited to work alongside our new chair @JimfromOldham, NEC and Party members, Co-op Party Colleagues, and all co-perators to strengthen our Party, and the UK co-operative movement.”