Co-op Group announces results of members’ council elections

Nick Crofts will continue as president of the council

The Co-op Group’s National Members’ Council hosted its annual elections on 6 July, which was also the International Day of Co-operatives.

Sitting president Nick Crofts was re-elected for another two-year term while Lesley Reznicek was elected as vice-president. She will serve as vice-president for democratic processes, co-op performance and member voice.

Council members are also able to stand for election to the senate, which is made up of 15 people who co-ordinate activity for council and act as a link between council and the board. In the senate elections, five new council members secured one and two year terms.

An elected member of the Co-op Group since 2009, Mr Crofts also represents the Knotty Ash ward on Liverpool City Council and is office manager for Stephen Twigg MP.

Commenting on the results, he said: “Council elections hustings is the Co-op’s internal festival of democracy and always an exciting time. I’m delighted to have been re-elected as council president and am proud to play such a role in the Co-op – a member-owned business that strives to change the world and show that there’s a better way of doing things. Congratulations to my fellow successful candidates, I look forward to working with you all and achieving change together.”

The 100 council representatives serve up to three years before requiring re-election. Their role is to represent the wider membership as well as safeguard the values and principles and hold the Group board to account.

President elections

Nick Crofts – elected for a two year term

Vice-president elections

Lesley Reznicek – elected for a two year term

Senate elections

Sue Smith – elected for a two year term
David Stanbury – elected for a two year term
Debbie Williams – elected for a two year term
Ruth Barrow – elected for a two year term
Danny Douglas – elected for a two year term
Jeevan Jones – elected for a one year term