Key role for Co-op MPs

Three long-serving Labour/Co-op MPs have been elected to chair House of Commons committees.

Adrian Bailey, MP for West Bromwich West, is the new Chair of the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee; Liverpool Riverside MP Louise Ellman has been re-elected Chair of the Transport Committee and Ian Davidson (Glasgow South West) will chair the Scottish Affairs Committee.

Co-operative Party General Secretary Michael Stephenson told the News: “In recent years Co-operative Party MPs have been chairs of important Parliamentary Committees so it is great that we have maintained such a high level of influence in the new Parliament.

“Each of those committees have a remit with significant implications for co-operatives, so it is good that experienced co-operators are at the helm, making sure the interests of the Movement are taken into account.”

Mr Stephenson added that the Party would also be pursuing opportunities to sponsor new legislation to help the Movement. He said: “The Party has a great record in getting private members’ legislation through Parliament. The ballot for Private Members Bills was held recently and we have been in discussions with MPs to see if we can put forward a Bill to continue important reforms that benefit the Movement."

In this article

Join the Conversation