Nominations are open for the Community Energy Awards

There are seven categories in this year’s awards, including a new section for best photo which is up for a public vote

Community Energy England has opened nominations for its annual awards, with contenders vying for seven categories.

The organisation, which represents and supports those committed to the community energy sector, is inviting summaries of up to 500 words on the individual or organisation being nominated.

The deadline for nomination is 8 September, with the 2017 Community Energy Awards set to take place in London on 1 November.

Last year’s event saw success for several co-ops, including Welsh charity Awel Aman Tawe and Brighton and Hove Energy Services Co-operative.

Organisations can be nominated for more than one category – which are as follows:

  • Community Renewable Energy Project Award: The most outstanding renewable electricity generation project undertaken by a community group (2016 winner: Awel Aman Tawe)
  • Community Energy Saving Award: The community group which has undertaken the most inspiring energy conservation and/or management project (2016 winner: Brighton & Hove Energy Services Cooperative)
  • Local Authority Award: The local authority which has done most to help local community energy organisations through partnering, investing, policy or other support (2016 winner: Plymouth City Council)
  • Collaboration Award: The most commendable collaboration between community and commercial / public / third sector partners (2016 winner:  Cyd Ynni)
  • Community Energy Finance Award: The community group and/or its funders and advisers, which have achieved the most inspiring results through a range of financial instruments/mechanisms. (2016 winner: The Naturesave Trust and Naturesave Policies Ltd)
  • Community Energy Champion: The individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the community energy sector over recent years (2016 winner: Alistair Macpherson)
  • Community Energy Photo: New award category, for original photographs which capture the essence of the community energy movement. This category is open for public vote.

A shortlist of nominations will be compiled by Community Energy England and Community Energy Wales. If a nomination is shortlisted, the nominator will be asked for more in-depth information on 15 September, which must be returned by 5 October.

Winners will receive a trophy and certificate, addition to the Community Energy Awards Hall of Fame, and will have an offical award stamp for the website.

A case study will also be produced about them and distributed to the media.

The winner of the photo award will receive a canvas of their image, and the image will be used as part of the 2018 State of the Sector Report and wider sector promotion.

The awards will be judged by a panel of industry experts including:  Patrick Allcorn, head of local energy, BEIS; Leonie Cooper, chair of the London Assembly Environment Committee; Alistair Macpherson, chief executive of Plymouth Energy Community & 2016 Community Energy Champion; and Philip Selwood, chief executive of the Energy Saving Trust.

The awards night begins with a drinks reception sponsored by Energy Saving Trust, in the Living Room at City Hall, London. You can register to attend here.

For details of how to enter the awards, visit the Community Energy Awards page.

In this article

Join the Conversation